Early Christian Lead Codices — FAKE

These metal books, about seventy in total, were said to have been discovered in a cave in Jordan and the media went crazy hailing them as the earliest Christian documents in existence.  However, Steve Caruso, a professional Aramaic translator and antiquities consultant has completed his analysis of the artifacts and has determined that they are fake. He said; “I obtained photos of all the text that was available, and spent the past week looking over them” and “I noticed there were a lot of Old Aramaic forms that were at least 2,500 years old. But they were mixed in with other forms that were younger, so I took a closer look at that and pulled out all the distinct forms that I could find.”  Some of the scripts were from the second and third century, which proves that the metal documents are at least hundreds of years older than previously thought.  Moreover, other characters were flipped around which would indicate that the copyist was inexperienced with the language.  He also found some non-sense scripts in Greek and Hebrew.

Also, check out what Jim over at deorientation has to say about the codices. Jim Deitrick — Professor, Dpt. of Philosophy & Religion Director at University of Central Arkansas.

Other interesting links
http://danielomcclellan.wordpress.com/2011/04/08/the-lead-codices-and-the-inscription-from-madaba/

http://tomverenna.wordpress.com/2011/04/03/new-roundup-on-lead-codices-and-additional-information/

 

1 Comment

  1. Thanks for posting the link. I think the evidence I post is conclusive. A lot of people seem to be running with Thonemann’s initial comments that the image purported to be the face of Jesus is Helios copied from a coin. I haven’t seen any evidence supporting this claim. I, too, was reminded of Helios when I first saw the image, but I also knew that I recognized the image–not something like the image, but the exact image. I didn’t take me long to remember from where. At any rate, the evidence should speak for itself.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Comments RSS

  • Top Clicks

    • None